Celebrate with Chicken Cordon Bleu

Written by Nick

Chicken Cordon Bleu with Creamy Mustard Sauce Recipe

Food holidays… there’s one every day of the year. Pistachio Day, Chicken Soup Day, Rhubarb Day etc… So it takes a lot for a food holiday to cut through the clutter and grab my attention. Just so happens, April 4th, is National Chicken Cordon Bleu Day and I think that’s a day worth celebrating.

Chicken Cordon Bleu holds a special place in my heart. It has always been one of my favorite meals. It was the “special occasion” dinner when I was growing up. The “you did well on that test so Mom will make anything you want” dinner. Or even the “I’m sorry you got cut from baseball team (I’ve always been terrible at baseball) so I made Chicken Cordon Bleu to cheer you up” meal.  Even when I went to college, my fraternity served “chicken bombs” for parents’ weekend. It was one of those dishes that just felt special to me.

So, I figured Chicken Cordon Bleu Day was the perfect excuse to try making it myself. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. Turns out, you should probably check your pantry for all the ingredients before you invite over friends and start cooking. I didn’t have the can of NESTLÉ Media Crema Ligera Lite Table Cream, so I subbed CARNATION® Fat Free Evaporated Milk for both the breading and the sauce. I also used light Swiss cheese, hoping to keep the calories in check. When rolling the chicken I was nervous it wouldn’t seal and all the cheese would melt its way out in the oven. But I secured the chicken with a toothpick, just like the recipe said, crossed my fingers and put it in the oven.

I was so excited when I pulled the chicken out of the oven and saw the cheese stayed put! I don’t think I’ve ever been so proud of how a recipe turned out. As a novice in the kitchen, I’m always anxious when entertaining friends and trying a new recipe. This was a home run (probably the only one I’ve ever hit – terrible at baseball). It paired perfectly with a Caesar Salad and roasted asparagus. I went so far as to print off the recipe and keep it on the fridge for the next celebratory dinner.

Give this recipe a try the next time you’re entertaining. You won’t be disappointed.

Chicken Cordon Bleu with Creamy Mustard Sauce

Ingredients for 4 servings:

  • 1 can (7.6 fluid ounces) NESTLÉ Media Crema Ligera Lite Table Cream, divided
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 3/4 cup plain bread crumbs
  • 2 teaspoons MAGGI Granulated Chicken Flavor Bouillon, divided
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves, pounded to 1/4-inch thickness
  • 4 thin slices cooked ham
  • 4 slices Swiss cheese
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 375° F. Grease large baking pan.

MIX 1/2 can media crema and mustard in small bowl; set aside.

MIX bread crumbs, 1 teaspoon bouillon and oregano in a dish; set aside. Place remaining 1/2 can media crema in a separate shallow dish.

Chicken Cordon Bleu with Creamy Mustard Sauce Recipe

SPRINKLE chicken pieces on both sides with remaining 1 teaspoon bouillon. Place 1 ham slice and 1 cheese slice on top of each chicken breast. Roll up; secure with wooden pick. Dip each roll in media crema, then in crumb mixture, turning to evenly coat both sides of each roll with the crumb mixture. Place rolls on prepared baking sheet; drizzle with oil.

BAKE, turning chicken over halfway through baking time, for 35 to 40 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and crust is golden. Serve warm with creamy mustard sauce.

Chicken Cordon Bleu with Creamy Mustard Sauce Recipe

Links:

Related Recipes:

Chicken Milanesa Recipe Crispy Baked Dijon Chicken Recipe
Chicken Milanesa Crispy Baked Dijon Chicken

One Comment

  1. Milica Chatraw-Cika
    Posted April 4, 2013 at 6:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Perfect!!!!
    Congratulations!!!!!!
    Cika

One Trackback

  1. […] Celebrate with Chicken Cordon Bleu (nestleusa.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

