Bachelor in the Kitchen – Keeping Resolutions with Baked Chicken

Written by Nick

Crispy Baked Dijon Chicken Recipe

Like a lot of people, I have a New Year’s resolution to eat healthier. This has been a reoccurring resolution each and every year. This year it’s more important than ever that I actually stick to it. So, I’m constantly looking for recipes that are full of flavor with a healthier side. I’ve saved this Crispy Baked Dijon Chicken on my “to try” list for a while now. It’s both low calorie and low fat (and looks delicious in the photo), so mid January seems like the perfect time to finally get around to trying it.

Now, as the “bachelor in the kitchen,” I make it a point to cook each recipe I try. It’s important to me to write about recipes that a novice chef, such as myself, can make. But when I was getting down to trying this particular recipe, I had also come down with a cold (teaser – I’ll be posting about chicken soup later this month). So, I enlisted my brother, a surprisingly good cook, to help with dinner. Although, I wasn’t directly involved in the prep of this meal, I can assure this is a simple recipe!

I sometimes worry that chicken can become boring or bland but that’s not the case with this recipe, it was delicious! The Dijon is flavorful and the chicken is crisp and juicy. My brother served the chicken with some mixed greens and Roasted Asparagus with Pesto & Lemon. This recipe came at the perfect time… mid January is about as long as my New Year’s resolutions usually last. With recipes like this, I might make it the full year (or mid February?)!

Crispy Baked Dijon Chicken

Ingredients for 4 servings:

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 475° F. Spray 13 x 9-inch baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.

COMBINE evaporated milk and mustard in shallow bowl. Combine bread crumbs and cheese in separate shallow bowl. Dip chicken into milk mixture, coating both sides, then into bread crumb mixture. Place in prepared dish.

BAKE for 15 to 20 minutes or until chicken is golden brown and no longer pink in center.

Links:

More Chicken:

Citrus Baked Chicken Recipe Grilled Chicken Breasts with Fresh Herbs Recipe
Citrus Baked
Chicken
Grilled Chicken Breasts
with Fresh Herbs

Leave a Reply

