Baking Some Love with Holiday Snowball Cookies

Written by Jenny

Holiday Snowball Cookies Recipe

Chris’s blog about those yummy-looking Easy Ovaltine Sugar Cookies got me thinking about what holiday treats will be made in my kitchen over the next few weeks. I’m sure many of you find this rather odd. Maybe you think I have had my list planned for weeks being that I work in a kitchen or that I started baking awhile ago and froze them (I wish I was that organized!). True confession, some years including this one, I have a very hard time deciding on what to bake- so many recipes to choose from! My head is full of questions right now. What favorites of the family should I make again? Any new recipes to try? What was that recipe that my nephew loved so much? Where is that recipe that my nephew loved so much? Even while writing this, I am jotting down a list of treat contenders. One thing I do know is that these Holiday Snowball Cookies will be made at least once, maybe twice. These bite-size shortbread-style cookies are festive with our Limited Edition Holiday Morsels, a mix of semi-sweet chocolate, red and green morsels which are available at retailers now.  This recipe is wonderful made with made with semi-sweet chocolate mini morsels too.

Holiday Snowball Cookies

Ingredients for 4 1/2 dozen cookies:

  • 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 2/3 cups (10-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Holiday Morsels
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped nuts
  • Powdered sugar

PREHEAT oven to 375° F.

BEAT butter, sugar, vanilla extract and salt in large mixer bowl until creamy. Gradually beat in flour; stir in morsels and nuts. Shape level tablespoons of dough into 1 1/4-inch balls. Place on ungreased baking sheets.

BAKE for 10 to 12 minutes or until cookies are set and lightly browned. Remove from oven. Sift powdered sugar over hot cookies on baking sheets. Cool on baking sheets for 10 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Sprinkle with additional powdered sugar, if desired. Store in airtight containers.

Oh, and don’t forget the secret ingredient…Love!

Links:

Related recipes:

Holiday Peppermint Bark Recipe Festive Eggnog Cake Recipe
Holiday Peppermint Bark Festive Eggnog Cake

2 Comments

  1. Kathy
    Posted November 23, 2013 at 11:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Can anyone help me find the holiday chips for making the Holiday Snowball cookies? I am in central NJ

    • Posted November 23, 2013 at 5:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Kathy! The holiday morsels hit the shelves a couple weeks ago. They should be in Walmart and grocery all over. If you go to http://www.verybestbaking.com and search for holiday morsels, there is a Store Locator option. Try that – hope you can fine them near you!!

Leave a Reply

