New Year, New Test Kitchen + Better Peanut Butter Cookie Recipe

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe

I made these better peanut butter cookies with our new Viking Range and I must confess: I’m a little bit in love with it. But I’m getting ahead…we didn’t always have this beautiful oven.

When I started working for Nestlé, the test kitchens were less than 6 months old. We had 2 nearly identical side-by-side kitchens. Everything was in pristine condition. Over the years, we found it necessary to change one kitchen into a mini photo studio. It still functions as a test kitchen when we need it, but the primary use is for food photography.

After nearly 20 years of very heavy use, it was time for a face-lift. Since our budget was slim, we renovated only our recipe kitchen and focused primarily on the appliances, work surfaces and floors.

We retired (and in some cases, donated) 3 very old double wall ovens, two refrigerators, one freezer, two electric ranges and one gas. We also donated boxes and boxes of dated utensils and props from photo shoots. That felt good! Our renovated test kitchen needed to reflect our consumers today, so we updated it with a broad range of appliances and equipment.

Glendale Kitchens Before

Before (image above)

Glendale Kitchens After

After (image above)

Meet our new additions below:

Nestle Kitchens Viking Range

Viking Professional 6-burner gas range, above

Nestle Kitchens GE Electric Range

GE Profile electric range, above

Thermador double wall ovens

Thermador double wall ovens, above

Miele dishwasher

Miele dishwasher, above

Nestle Kitchens pull out drawers

Several pullout kitchen drawers, above (check out that Caesarstone countertop!)

Nestle Kitchens rolling island

Rolling butcher block kitchen island which serves as a prep station, meeting and tasting area, above

Since we couldn’t redesign the cabinetry, we simply refaced it and added contemporary pulls. This is an inexpensive way to make the space look more current. We wanted to add warmth to the kitchen so for the floors, we chose a tile that looks like wood. It is much more skid resistant than what we had previously. See a video tour of the kitchen.

When the renovation was complete, I could not wait to get my hands on the Viking Range. I think this is my favorite new appliance! It bakes everything so evenly and I just love the controllability of the gas cooktop. I have one at home and it has never let me down!

So I set out to make Original Nestlé Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies – hey, I needed to test the ovens out! Since the Peanut Butter Cookies are new and March is National Peanut Month (and today is National Peanut butter Lover’s Day), I thought I would highlight this recipe. It’s my new favorite peanut butter cookie! And I love that it is on the “sensible” side. I tried to make this recipe as healthy as I could without getting crazy – and yes, I did test them out on my kiddos. Huge success!

I’ve also got some cookie tips for you in the video above.

Ingredients needed for 38 Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies:

  • 1 1/4 cups white whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup natural creamy peanut butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup NESTLÉ TOLL HOUSE Milk Chocolate or Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
  • 1/4 cup chopped dry-roasted peanuts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° F.

Combine flour, baking soda and salt in medium bowl; stir.

Combine butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in large mixer bowl until combined. Stir in peanut butter. Stir in egg and vanilla extract. Gradually stir in flour mixture. Stir in morsels and peanuts. Using a level tablespoon, roll the dough into balls; place on ungreased baking sheets spacing about 2 inches apart. Flatten slightly with a fork.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are set but centers are still soft (they will look underdone). Cool on baking sheets for 4 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Please share your favorite peanut butter cookie recipe with us! I’d especially love to see those that are on the healthier side. Happy baking!

Links:

Related recipes:

Chocolate Peanut Butter Dream Cookies recipe
Chocolate Peanut Butter Dream Cookies
Peanut Butter & Milk Chocolate Treats recipe
Peanut Butter & Milk Chocolate Treats

4 Comments

  1. Posted March 1, 2011 at 7:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yummy! These cookies sounds great. I love that you’d added some whole wheat flour.
    Incredible kitchen too!

    • Posted March 2, 2011 at 2:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Nancy! So happy you left a comment…I just found you on Twitter. You have lots of great info!

  2. Posted March 2, 2011 at 2:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is such a wonderful and gorgeous new kitchen! Great tips on the cookies by the way. I learned them the hard way (by trial and error) though. LOL Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Posted April 13, 2011 at 11:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so jealous of that Viking oven! Wow. The cookies look yummy too!

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] tell a difference and I’m not really one for whole wheat!). The new-and-improved peanut butter cookie recipe she also prepared with natural peanut butter and came out crispy and delightful, which I consider a […]

  2. […] Peanut Butter CookiesAdapted from Nestle Test Kitchen recipeMakes about 20 […]

Leave a Reply

