Black Bottom Ovaltine Banana Bread the Whole Family Will Love

Black Bottom Ovaltine Banana Bread Recipe

Today I am going to share with you one of my son’s favorite snacks, Black Bottom Ovaltine Banana Bread. Since it is fall, it’s the perfect time get back in the kitchen and start baking! I love to bake quick breads (pumpkin and banana) throughout the year. In fact, several times a year I bake a few loaves at a time and freeze for later use. It makes for an easy (portable) breakfast or perfect after-school snack.

This recipe was inspired by a recipe I found from Cooks Illustrated years ago, and I have made tweaks to it along the way. If you know me, you probably know that I tinker with recipes to make them a bit healthier. I pushed this bread as far as I could – with my kids tasting along the way – and ultimately landed on a recipe the entire family enjoyed. Since I have chocolate lovers (and three young kids) in my household, I added Rich Chocolate Ovaltine to the batter… and just in case you’re wondering, Chocolate Nesquik works just as well!

Don’t let quick breads scare you; they are very simple to make. And they are just that, quick. You combine dry ingredients in one bowl, the wet in another. Combine the two and you are nearly done. There are a few rules to remember though. Baking soda and baking powder release gas the instant they are moistened, so it’s important to have your oven preheated in advance, your pan sprayed with cooking spray and your ingredients all measured out before you start putting the recipe together.

Black Bottom Ovaltine Banana Bread Recipe

In this recipe, to get the black bottom, I remove 1 cup of batter and mix with Ovaltine. I spoon the rest of the batter over the chocolate batter. Then I bake the bread at 350 for 50-55 minutes.

Black Bottom Ovaltine Bread Recipe

Oh the anticipation! The entire house smelled of sweet banana bread. And chocolate. The texture is best when the loaf is eaten fresh, but it can be stored (cool completely first), covered tightly with plastic wrap, for up to 3 days. It also freezes very well. So bake two loaves and freeze one for later use. And of course, enjoy with milk!

Black Bottom Ovaltine Bread Recipe

Banana tips:

  • For banana bread, it’s best to use ripe bananas. So be sure to look for those that are heavily speckled.
  • To speed the ripening process, place bananas in a brown paper bag with a ripe apple.
  • Store ripe bananas in a tightly sealed plastic bag in the refrigerator. The peel will be dark but the flesh will remain unchanged.
  • If you have ripe bananas but aren’t ready to make bread, they can be stored longer-term in the freezer. Slip them into a plastic bag unpeeled and freeze for up to 6 months. Or, peel and mash, stir in 1 teaspoon lemon juice for each banana and freeze in an airtight container for up to 6 months. Defrost overnight in refrigerator before using.

Links:

15 Comments

  1. Posted September 30, 2010 at 9:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    My hubs LOVES Ovaltine! I can’t wait to make this for him!

    • Posted October 4, 2010 at 8:23 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Maria – soon enough you will be baking up a storm in your NEW kitchen. So happy for you! Hope to meet you at BlogHerFood!!

  2. Posted September 30, 2010 at 9:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yum, this looks so good. My girls would love this bread. Anything with banana’s is a sure hit in my house. I love the photo’s of your son too! Very cute!

    • Posted October 4, 2010 at 8:22 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Heather, thanks so much for your comments! Sure hope I get to meet you in person at BlogHerFood!

  3. Posted September 30, 2010 at 2:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Chris, I’ll have to make this soon, if for no other reason than the fact that Ovaltine was a childhood favorite of mine. And bananas. What’s not to love?

    • Posted October 4, 2010 at 8:36 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Jean – thanks for your comment. I just found you on Twitter!

  4. Posted September 30, 2010 at 5:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my goodness! Okay, for one, I LOVE quick breads. But for two, Ovaltine?!?!? You have taken me back to my childhood big time with this one! I use to LOVE a glass of cold Ovaltine. This is such an awesome recipe and I know my own girls will love it!

    • Posted October 4, 2010 at 8:21 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Rachael, this recipe works great with pumpkin too!🙂

  5. Posted September 30, 2010 at 5:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks delicious!!! Love the Ovaltine bottom! Mmm…

    • Posted October 4, 2010 at 8:25 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Bridget, thanks for your comments! We had a lot of fun with this recipe. Chocolate and bananas go so well together!

  6. Posted October 1, 2010 at 12:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    What a fun recipe…I’m sure kids will love this bread recipe! Bananas & Chocolately Ovaltine….perfection!

    • Posted October 4, 2010 at 8:26 am | Permalink | Reply

      Quyen – it was such a pleasure meeting you! You are one talented lady! Thanks for dropping by our site.

  7. Posted October 1, 2010 at 10:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    Are you serious?! Oh my gosh, we LOVE Ovaltine around here, and this must be the classiest banana bread I’ve ever seen.

    Thanks for this!

    • Posted October 4, 2010 at 8:20 am | Permalink | Reply

      Aimee, thanks so much for stopping by our blog and leaving such a nice comment! It is a yummy recipe!

  8. Posted October 4, 2010 at 5:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Chris, this Ovaltine Banana bread looks awesome. I bet your kids love it. Thanks for all the helpful tips about quick breads. We must catch up at BlogHer Food this week. xxoo

Leave a Reply

