Make Easy Mole this Hispanic Heritage Month

Easy Mole Sauce Recipe

I was first introduced to mole when I started working at Nestlé many years ago. I was developing an authentic mole recipe using one of my favorite Hispanic products, Abuelita Chocolate, a Mexican cinnamon-infused chocolate commonly used to make beverages.

Authentic mole has more than 25 ingredients (like cumin, raisins, anise and sesame seeds)! Making it can be very time consuming. Each ingredient is fried and ground into a paste. The paste is then diluted with broth and finally either turkey or chicken is simmered in the sauce at a low temperature. It is the successful marriage of many flavors that makes mole so delicious and unique.

Mole reminded me of a childhood Middle Eastern dish that my grandmother used to make for special occasions. Fesenju – also a very dark sauce – is made from ground walnuts and pomegranate molasses. Although it doesn’t have as many ingredients as Mole, it can take an entire day to prepare. My culinary and nutrition background brought a natural urge in me to experiment with mole to develop a quicker and healthier version of both recipes.

To simplify my recipe, I toasted the ingredients instead of frying them to intensify the flavors. You can also prepare the paste in advance and freeze it in small batches for future use. I sometimes add canned chipotle chile in adobo sauce for a more intense smoky flavor and I love to serve it on chicken, turkey, fish and shrimp.

Try your hand at making homemade mole the easy way; you’ll have a host of happy eaters this Hispanic Heritage month!

Links:

More Mole Recipes:

Chicken Mole Recipe
Chicken Mole
Shrimp Mole Recipe
Shrimp Mole

One Comment

  1. Posted October 8, 2010 at 6:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This Mole looks super awesome and Authentic!!🙂 I love cooking Mexican food just love the flavours!! and miss them so much!

One Trackback

  1. […] talked before about an easy mole sauce, but for this recipe, I made the mole ultra easy – this one has only 4 basic ingredients, and […]

Leave a Reply

