Perfect Pizza Pairings

Written by Cynthia -

Pizza Portion

October is National Pizza Month. And I know what you’re thinking…there seems to be a food holiday for pretty much anything these days. But I must say…who doesn’t love pizza?! I, for one, love all types of pizza and for me, moderation is key, so I’m always looking for ways to combine my cheesy cravings with a nice nutritious balance.

Luckily, Nestlé USA has launched this great Pizza Portion Guide in conjunction with the Balance Your Plate initiative, a way for us to think differently about frozen meals. It’s simple – just combining a slice of pizza or a frozen entrée with fruits and vegetables helps you balance your plate with nutrients you need!

Last week, after a hard day’s work, I went out and grabbed a DiGIORONO® pizzeria!™ pepperoni pizza and put this toolkit to practice. My wish was for a quick and easy weeknight meal that I felt good about. I popped the pizza in the oven and while waiting, grabbed a spring mix of lettuce, threw in some tomatoes, carrots and avocado for a nice refreshing and simple salad. I paired the two and voilà – my 10 minute weeknight meal was ready to go!

Pizza Portion

For the approximate measure, the guide recommends picturing your hand as a pizza slice and enjoying only one or two hands’ worth. I chose one in this case, since I made a larger portion of the salad. Check out more clever ideas for enjoying perfect pizza portions.

Eating additional slices of this pizza deliciousness was definitely tempting, but merely combining it with a handful of leafy greens and fresh produce really managed to be very fulfilling in the end. Mission accomplished!

For more tips and tricks on balancing your plate with pizza, visit http://www.nestleusa.com/nutrition/enjoypizza.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,664 other followers

