Flag Day Cookies

Written by Nick – 

Stars and Stripes Cookies Recipe

Flag Day seems to sneak up on me every year. I’m always unprepared and missing out on all the amazing Flag Day traditions, like… hanging a flag and … uh… New tradition! Stars and Stripes Cookies! Now, I might not “celebrate” Flag Day. I’m not sure of many people who really go out of their way to celebrate Flag Day, but I will take any excuse to make some sugar cookies. Plus it’s a great day to test out some upcoming 4th of July recipes.

I’m not a baker. Not even close. I contribute to the blog as an everyday guy in the kitchen, trying to make something better than I did yesterday. And I’m definitely learning my way around the kitchen. I even got a nice stand mixer for all my doughy kneads (I know it’s a bad joke, but I couldn’t resist).

Every once in a while I see a recipe that seems too good to be true. Using refrigerated cookie dough and cookie cutter to make star shaped cookies. Sounds like a recipe right up my alley. Make a simple icing with food coloring do a little decorating and you’ve got some fancy cookies.

Now it’s time for the debate. Can I call these homemade? I think so. I made the shapes, I made the icing, and I did the decoration. What do you think?

Debate aside, these cookies were easy, looked great and most importantly tasted delicious. I used Flag Day as a 4th of July test run and I’m sure going to be whipping these up again in a few weeks.

Stars and Stripes Cookies Recipe

Note: I’m no photographer but thought I’d share how my cookies turned out. Even an amateur can make a festive treat.

Stars and Stripes Cookies

Ingredients for 24 cookies:

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 325° F.

SPRINKLE flour onto work surface. Roll out dough to 1/4-inch thickness, using additional flour as needed to prevent sticking. Cut into star shapes with cookie cutters. Transfer cookies to ungreased baking sheets with spatula.

BAKE for 10 to 14 minutes or until light brown around edges. Smaller cutters and sharp edges tend to produce darker cookies. Cool on baking sheets for 1 minute; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Pipe, spoon or spread red, white and blue icing onto cookies to create stripes.

FOR EASY COOKIE ICING:
COMBINE 1 cup sifted powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon milk and 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract in small bowl. Stir in additional milk, a teaspoon at a time, until desired consistency. Set aside one-third of icing. Divide remaining icing between two bowls. Add red food coloring to one bowl and blue to the other; stir well.

Related Recipes:

Patriotic Fruit Pops Recipe NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Stars and Stripes Cookies Recipe
Patriotic
Fruit Pops
NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE®
Stars and Stripes Cookies

2 Comments

  1. Posted June 14, 2013 at 10:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Fantastic! I love your bake! =D

  2. Posted June 30, 2013 at 6:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Quick and easy treat to make before Thursday. Thank you!! Hope you don’t mind I’m reposting on my FB business page. Thanks.

2 Trackbacks

  1. By High Heel Cookie Cutter | Blog on July 22, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    […] Flag Day <b>Cookies</b> « Nestlé Kitchens […]

  2. By 50+ Fun Fourth of July Foods on October 20, 2014 at 11:21 am

    […] 52. I love how cute these Flag Day Cookies are! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,750 other followers

