Bachelor in the Kitchen: Simple Pasta for Two

Written by Nick – 

Spicy Beef & Sausage Ravioli with Zucchini and Peppers Recipe

I enjoy cooking, but cooking on the weekday for two people (I live with my brother) can be a challenge. There are always leftovers and you’re stuck eating taco meat 20 different ways (this example is not usually a problem with me – I love all things taco).

Lately we’ve resorted to a simple pasta dish. Just pick your favorite Buitoni pasta, add sauce, easy. I wanted to try something new and was looking for inspiration on meals.com. I found a few recipes and this Spicy Beef & Sausage Ravioli with Zucchini and Peppers caught my eye for a few reasons; I was in the mood for sausage ravioli (that helps), I love zucchini but don’t often cook with it, and we always have red peppers on hand.

So, like the genius that I am, I went to the store and picked up half the things I needed, some extra things I didn’t, and a lot of things I don’t know what I’m going to do with. When I got home, I looked at the recipe and realized… I needed to improvise. Luckily there are a few simple pasta dishes on meals.com and I just made a collection of them all.

Firstly, the zucchini I got, well I forgot it was supposed to be zucchini… oh well, eggplant it is. Then the basil I got, I didn’t get, so I used a bit of pesto instead of the olive oil and fresh basil. Finally the sausage ravioli I got, I thought that would go well with some lighter cheese tortellini too. Looks like we’ll be having some leftovers after all.

Below is the recipe as it was intended. But I’ll tell you what, my improvised recipe turned out great. So, try to experiment a little, pasta dishes can be so much more than just pasta with sauce. Adding some tasty vegetables is a nice way to mix it up and fresh crunchy red peppers gave the meal a real summery feel.

A side note, this meal looks really elegant. This “dinner for two” was me and my brother, but this would be a great “dinner for two” for you and a date. Buitoni offers some wine pairings on their website that can complete the “stay home date.”

Spicy Beef & Sausage Ravioli with Zucchini and Peppers

Ingredients for 2 servings:

Directions:

PREPARE pasta according to package directions, adding zucchini during last 2 minutes of cook time. Drain; place in large serving bowl. Add bell pepper and oil; toss gently to coat. Sprinkle with basil before serving.

More Pasta Dishes:

Chicken & Four Cheese Ravioli with Peas and Basil Recipe Tortellini with Pesto and Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe
Chicken & Four Cheese Ravioli
with Peas and Basil
Tortellini with Pesto
and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

2 Comments

  1. Cika-Milica
    Posted June 8, 2013 at 11:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    yummy,Nicky….wonderful….Bob and Suzanne must be sooo proud of both of you…lol
    Cika

  2. Posted October 15, 2013 at 5:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    I was secretly hoping to find the detailed instructions for the ravioli here hehe, anyway thanks for sharing, looks absolutely yummy!

One Trackback

  1. By June 8, 2013 | Mommy plus 5 on June 8, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    […] Music I am listening to today…Ken Block, Blue to a Blind Man Random Link of the Day…Spicy Beef and Sausage Ravioli The Daily […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,699 other followers

