A New Favorite: Fennel & Apple Salad with Apple Vinaigrette

Written by Chris -

Apple and Fennel Salad with Apple Vinaigrette Recipe

This Fennel & Apple Salad has become my new favorite salad – and mind you, this is coming from someone who avoided fennel her whole life. Really. I’m not sure why it took me so long to warm up to fennel, but now, I can’t get enough of it. Fennel and apple play so well together and I’m kicking myself for just discovered this.

I have our local Farmer Fresh to You program to thank for my new obsession. Bi-weekly, we get fresh, local and organic produce delivered to our doorstep, so I like to challenge myself to create new recipes from what’s in the box. Two of our recent deliveries were overflowing with apples and fennel. My first thought was – shoot, what am I going to do with all this fennel? Then I remember coming across a recipe for a stacked fennel salad that caught my eye. It was more the visual that I fell in love with, because, well, fennel was the star ingredient.

I nearly always add fresh thyme, glazed walnuts or pecans and crumbled blue cheese to my salads, so why not incorporate these elements into a stacked fennel & apple salad? I thought I’d tie it all together with an apple vinaigrette that I created for Nestlé. Wow! I am certain I ate at least 3 servings.

I used a mandoline to slice the apples and fennel, but you could thinly slice with a sharp chef’s knife as well. I made one minor change to this recipe after photographing it. I’ve been using the mandoline to shave the apples and fennel almost paper-thin. This way, you can eat it with just a fork. It’s really just a matter of preference. One tip: if you like fennel, double the recipe and save half. This salad gets even better the second day! The fennel softens ever so slightly, the apple stays crisp and the flavors marry beautifully. I was topping everything with it – turkey burger, ahi tuna – you name it.

Apple & Fennel Salad with Apple Vinaigrette

Ingredients for 4 servings:

  • 1 1/2 cups Apple NESTLÉ® JUICY JUICE® All Natural 100% Juice
  • 3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 4 small red apples, washed, cored and thinly sliced
  • 4 small fennel bulbs, washed and thinly sliced (about 4 cups total)
  • 2 to 3 slices red onion (optional)
  • 1/4 cup chopped glazed pecans
  • 1/4 (1 ounce) cup crumbled blue cheese
  • Fresh thyme leaves

Directions:

BRING Juicy Juice to a boil in small saucepan over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low; cook for 20 minutes or until juice is reduced to ½ cup. Cool to room temperature. (Juice can be refrigerated in covered container for up to 2 days.) Whisk in vinegar, oil, mustard, salt and pepper.

apple fennel salad edit2

TO ASSEMBLE: Alternately stack layers of fennel and apple (and onion if using) on salad plates. Drizzle with apple vinaigrette. Sprinkle with pecans, blue cheese and thyme leaves.

Related recipes:

Apple Quinoa Salad Recipe Spring Farro Salad Recipe
Apple Quinoa Salad Spring Farro Salad

One Trackback

  1. [...] A New Favorite: Fennel & Apple Salad with Apple Vinagrette (nestleusa.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,737 other followers

