Tips for Perfect Fries: Rosemary Oven Fries

Written by Chris -

Rosemary Oven Fries Recipe

Boy, do I have a treat for you! Who likes fries? Who loves fries? I know you can’t see me, but I am waving my hand profusely. I have such a crush on fries! I’m somewhat of a carbohydrate addict. But, I do actually avoid them on occasion – I need to look after my girlish figure, after all. Seriously, I eat fries all the time. But let me clarify, my fries are always baked. No exceptions. They are so much better for you this way!

Here are some tips for the most delicious baked fries – as in creamy on the inside, crispy on the outside, pure deliciousness:

  • Cut the potatoes into evenly sized wedges or sticks so that all of the fries will cook at the same rate.
  • After cutting the potatoes, soak them in hot water for about 10 minutes. Drain and pat dry. Soaking them helps the potatoes release their starches.
  • Coat them with oil and season as desired (I have a seasoning tip below).
  • Then bake, covered with foil, for the first 5 minutes. Remove the cover, and continue baking until golden. This produces fries with a soft, creamy interior and a crisp outer crust.

This last technique came from my favorite culinary publication, Cooks Illustrated. I’ve always soaked my potatoes to remove the starch (this helps make them crispy), but covering them for the first 5 minutes of baking is a new technique for me. I never thought to steam them first. But doing so produces the best texture!

I love adding fresh rosemary to my fries. Certainly not necessary, but do me a favor, try it. I think you might just love it. I also like to add chicken bouillon as a seasoning to my fries. It has onion powder, garlic powder, turmeric and other spices. If you are vegetarian, sea salt does the trick, too. But if you aren’t, give bouillon a try. It’s a great all-around seasoning.

Here’s my go to recipe:

Rosemary Oven Fries

Ingredients for 6 servings:

  • 3 large russet potatoes (about 2 pounds total or 10 ounces each), scrubbed, each potato cut lengthwise into 10 to 12 evenly sized wedges (or cut into ½-inch-thick sticks)
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 teaspoon MAGGI Instant Chicken Flavor Bouillon
  • ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 475° F.

Rosemary Oven Fries Recipe

Place potatoes in a large bowl; cover with hot water. Soak for 10 minutes (this will help remove the starch). Drain the potatoes. Spread the potatoes onto a kitchen towel; pat to dry.

Rosemary Oven Fries Recipe

Place potatoes in a large bowl; toss with oil, rosemary, bouillon and pepper.

Rosemary Oven Fries Recipe

Arrange potatoes in a single layer on a large, rimmed baking sheet. Cover tightly with foil. Bake for 5 minutes.

 Rosemary Oven Fries Recipe

Remove foil; bake for an additional 15 to20 minutes or until the potatoes are golden brown. Scrape the potatoes loose from the baking sheet with a metal spatula; flip over.

Rosemary Oven Fries Recipe

Bake for an additional 8 to 10 minutes or until evenly browned. Taste and add sea salt, if desired. I like the added crunch, so I usually add a little sea salt. Serve immediately.

Do you have any special techniques for making the absolute best oven fries? Any special seasonings? Please share!

By the way, Todd & Diane from White on Rice Couple, photographed the hero shot at the top. They do such beautiful work!

Pesto Kale Chips Recipe Grilled Panzanella Recipe
Pesto Kale Chips Grilled Panzanella

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 28, 2013 at 8:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love these sorts of baked fries dishes.. and am going to try soaking them next time. I was admiring that first shot.. what do you think they did differently from the rest of us:) xx

  2. Jackie
    Posted February 8, 2013 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Made this the other day and they were the best oven fries ever! Do you think this method could work with sweet potatoes as well?

    • Posted February 8, 2013 at 3:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Jackie! Thanks for your comments! Yes, this method works with sweet potatoes, too. Use cold water and soak for about 20 minutes and be sure to pat dry.

  3. Vamshi
    Posted April 11, 2013 at 7:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    so nice….. shall try it soooon :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,611 other followers

