Simple is Best: After School Snack Ideas

 

Written by Chris -

Tasty Bugs Recipe

Now that school is back in session, my nine-year-old triplets are heavy into snacks. After school snacks, that is. Come 3:30 p.m., they are hungry! Not just hungry, but HUNGRY! So before they begin homework, it’s snack time.

At this age, I’ve learned, simple is best. For me, having fruits and vegetables on hand, like apples, oranges, nectarines and grapes plus edamame and carrots, is essential. In addition, a well-stocked refrigerator (we eat our share of yogurt and cheese) and pantry (lots of whole-grain cereals, crackers and nuts) is a must!

One of my most recent assignments at Nestlé was to create snack ideas for Nerds and Nestlé Raisinets. This was one of those projects that made me look cool to my kids! Well, sort of. Actually, maybe not. What I do know is that my kids love Nerds and I love Raisinets.

So, on a recent triple-digit summer day (just before the start of 4th grade), my kids and I stayed indoors and made Tasty Bugs. We used what we had on hand – Nerds, shredded carrots, apples, celery sticks and all-natural peanut butter. We made snails, caterpillars and butterflies. Sure, this activity may have been better suited for younger children, but we had a ball making and eating them! Kids love to play with their food, no matter what age.

Tasty Bugs Recipe

A small word of caution about the snails – if you have dogs, try to keep them away from the table. One bump and the snail can tip over (see above). If my kids were a lot younger, there would have been tears. Here’s a little tip to prevent potential disaster: With a knife, level the bottom of the celery (middle center) so that it is flat, not round. After a few wobbly snails, I caught on!

If you are a Raisinets fan like me, read on…

Bumps On A Log Recipe

Raisinets are great out of hand, there’s no denying that! But have you added them to peanut butter and celery (aka Bumps on a Log pictured above)? That’s a tasty combo! Kids love it, too! And I don’t think it’s just the cute name.

Raisinets Snacks Recipes

Here are a few more ideas just in case you have Raisinets on hand and want to get playful.

  • Spread whole-grain toast with all-natural peanut butter then sprinkle with a few Raisinets
  • Create a snack mix with whole-grain cereal and Raisinets
  • Sprinkle Raisinets over lowfat yogurt
  • Enjoy them with almonds

One final tip that I think is worth sharing. When kids have their after school snack, have them eat at the kitchen table and not in front of the TV or computer. This way they pay attention to what they’re eating. This is taking some getting used to on our end. But, I think it’s a smart idea.

Do you have any favorite snack ideas you’d like to share? I’d love to hear them! Please post in the comment section. Thank you!

Links:

More After School Snacks:

Nesquik Peanut Butter Banana Wrap Recipe
Nesquik Peanut Butter & Banana Wrap
Ovaltine Better Bagel Topper Recipe
Ovaltine Better Bagel Topper

 

12 Comments

  1. Posted September 11, 2012 at 5:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Adorable creations Chris! They remind me of these Car-Tuna sandwiches https://bitly.com/
    I created and my then 9-year old and her friends still talk about the day they helped.

  2. Posted September 15, 2012 at 6:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    These are seriously adorable!

  3. Posted September 16, 2012 at 4:09 am | Permalink | Reply

    thats a wonderful idea! my kids are gonna love these.

  4. darkocaric653418598
    Posted September 27, 2012 at 2:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    I adore this decoration! So cute ! Really creative!

  5. Posted September 28, 2012 at 6:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    My sister posted this pic on my FB wall, and I had to find where it came from! Love love this idea, you are right so simple and I bet sooooooo delicious!

    and super duper cute! Where is the picture of the butterfly? :-)

  6. Posted November 12, 2012 at 3:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Reblogged this on magaliafernandez and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

  7. Dj
    Posted November 13, 2012 at 1:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks. Great ideas

  8. taylor kelly
    Posted September 10, 2013 at 2:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    how do you make the snail snack.

    • Posted September 10, 2013 at 2:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hello! If you click on the recipe image, it will take you to the recipe with the directions. Please let me know of you have any other questions.
      Chris

  9. Posted December 1, 2013 at 7:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Cheers

  10. Mary
    Posted December 18, 2013 at 3:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Can you make these the night before I want to make these for my daughters school party but I have to work the day off!

    • Posted December 18, 2013 at 6:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Mary! These hold a few hours (be sure to coat apple with lemon juice to prevent browning), but I don’t think they will last overnight. The caterpillars (celery) have a better chance of holding. Just place the carrots on right before serving.

10 Trackbacks

  1. By Amazing Snail Snack - 1000 Funny Food Recipes on April 8, 2013 at 7:46 am

    [...] By mommy, April 8, 2013, In Fruits, Snacks, Veggies My Rating: 5.0 7 Varies Servings ~ 15 minutes Home » Fruits » Amazing Snail Snack Image Source: Chris from Nestlé Kitchens [...]

  2. By Snack Time! | Childcare Bridge on May 17, 2013 at 5:14 am

    […] image via […]

  3. […] folks at Nestle Kitchens came up with some cute after school snacks and lunch “companions” made from fruits and […]

  4. By 15 Creative After School Snacks - Giggles Galore on August 7, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    […] Tasty Bugs […]

  5. By Food for thought... - on August 22, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    […] 1. Snail snacks via: nestleusa.wordpress.com […]

  6. […] After School Critter Snacks By Nestle Kitchens […]

  7. […] I do, however, feed my children snacks around 9:30am and 3:30pm, and these snacks are far from the artistic edible masterpieces that have become so popular. My poor kids pluck plain old raspberries from a heap of raspberries […]

  8. […] Photo from Chris @ NestleUSA WordPress […]

  9. […] 1. Tasty Apple and Celery Bugs from Nestle Kitchens […]

  10. […] own custom flavors.  Here are 19 healthy summer snack ideas that are sure to please your kiddos!Tasty Bugs from Nestle Kitchens. Everything tastes better on a stick!  Try these watermelon pops from Simply […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,667 other followers

