Summer Grilling Recipe: Tangerine Adobo Chicken

Written by Ericka -

Please enjoy this guest post by Ericka Sanchez of Nibbles & Feasts.

Orange Tangerine Adobo Chicken Recipe

Planning a family reunion this summer? Then a “parillada” (barbecue) needs to happen. It’s the perfect time to bond with your loved ones, enjoy the beautiful weather and reflect in the great outdoors.

We are at the peak of barbecue season and I took advantage of this time to invite my family over and prepare a batch of my younger sister’s famous Orange Tangerine Adobo Chicken a la parilla. I had been pleading with her to reveal the sweet, savory and spicy marinade recipe to me because everyone loves the flavor and it tenderizes the chicken beautifully. I promised her that if she shared her recipe with me, I would invite the family over and attempt to make this delicious family meal for everyone to enjoy.

With that promise, she did and I was delighted to have all the ingredients needed in my kitchen. There was no need to go out and buy costly marinades when I could make my own. The preparation was simple and the chicken marinated overnight as we hardly slept in anticipation.

The next day, when the chicken was cooked and gave it its last sizzle, we wrapped the juicy meat in warm corn tortillas, topped it with pico de gallo and devoured this newly inducted Meals.com family favorite until it completely disappeared.

Orange Tangerine Adobo Chicken Recipe

Tangerine Adobo Chicken

Ingredients for 8 servings:

Directions:

HEAT Juicy Juice and sugar in a large saucepan; whisk until sugar is completely dissolved. Whisk in seasoning sauce and chiles; cook for 3 to 4 minutes. Do not boil. Remove from heat; let cool.

PLACE chicken thighs in a large freezer bag; carefully pour in Juicy Juice mixture. Seal; refrigerate for 12 hours.

PREHEAT grill or broiler.

GRILL or broil chicken for about 7 minutes on each side or until no longer pink in center. To test, pierce a thigh with a knife and if juice is clear, the thighs are cooked.

Links:

Related Recipes:

Turkey Enchilada Stack Recipe
Turkey Enchilada Stack
Barbeque Chicken Drummettes Recipe
Barbeque Chicken Drummettes

16 Comments

  1. Jasmine Forte
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 11:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds delicious!!! I will definitely have to try this! Thanks!

  2. sweeptight
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 12:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks scrumptious!! Thank you for the clear instructions. I am making this!

  3. Edie Burge
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 12:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This looks delicious! Ericka, thanks for your excellent recipe.

  4. Posted August 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh my, that looks so tasty! Thanks for sharing :)

  5. desumama
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 12:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This recipe is on the menu for THIS weekend! I’m Cuban and love Citrus infused marinades…reminds me of Mami’s cooking. Love the flavor combos, but still an easy reipes… thanks so much!

  6. Posted August 17, 2012 at 1:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my! This looks and sounds so amazing. I’ll have to give this recipe a try!

  7. dianehoffmaster
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 1:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    okay, now I am hungry! That looks wonderful. Very creative use of ingredients!

  8. Posted August 17, 2012 at 1:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yum! I hadn’t thought of pairing these flavors together before but it looks wonderful!

  9. jadelouisedesigns
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 2:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow that looks amazing! I love to grill, as the food always tastes so much better.I need to give this one a try!

  10. Posted August 17, 2012 at 2:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This never happens, but I have all the ingredients in my kitchen to make this dish! Guess I’ll have to give it a go. Mil gracias, Ericka for sharing the recipe, and for saving me a trip to the grocery store :-)

  11. Posted August 17, 2012 at 4:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds delish!

  12. Posted August 17, 2012 at 4:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This sounds so tasty and perfect for the end of summer. Thanks for the great idea!!!

  13. shannoncolleary
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 6:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve been barbecuing up a storm. I don’t know why it’s so, but barbecues just make everything taste better.

  14. Posted August 17, 2012 at 6:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I could practically taste the sweet and chili marinade on this chicken. Yummy. Sounds like the perfect bar-b-que food.

  15. Carmen
    Posted August 17, 2012 at 8:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Me encanta el pollo hacerlo de difereentes manera, esta receta se ve riquisima,ya tengo otra opcion de hacer el pollo,y acompañado con un arroz al cilantro.
    Gracias por compartirla!!!

  16. Posted August 18, 2012 at 8:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    This chicken looks delicioso!!! even better with tortillas

One Trackback

  1. [...] • Ericka of Nibbles and Feasts guest blogged for the Nestle Kitchen’s Blog. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,709 other followers

