Baking with Coconut Oil: Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

Written by Chris -

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil Recipe

Baking with coconut oil certainly isn’t new, but it’s fairly new to me. I finally decided it was time to give it a try after reading a post on The Kitchn. Until now, I’ve been completely devoted to butter. The more I experiment with coconut oil, the more impressed I am. I’ve been using it to pop popcorn (oh my, heavenly!), added it to stir-frys, used it for pancakes and blended it in smoothies. For this post, I am going to focus on COOKIES.

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil Recipe

Coconut oil is bright white in color and has a fresh coconut smell. The taste profile is light and sweet, with subtle hints of coconut. I am noticing a hint of coconut in baked goods, but for the most part, it’s hard to detect. I think what surprises most people is that coconut oil can change between a liquid and solid state very easily. Whenever the temperature is above 76 degrees Fahrenheit, coconut oil will be liquid. Below 76, coconut oil is a solid. Refrigeration isn’t needed. The shelf life for most coconut oils is two years.

I put coconut oil to the test in a family cookie recipe, in addition to a handful of other cookie recipes. I am finding that you can pretty much use coconut oil as a substitute in many recipes that call for butter or margarine. It’s a straight substitution, 1 cup for 1 cup.

Coconut oil can be beaten along with sugar the same way you would butter. I like to beat it a little first just to soften, and then I add the sugar. If your recipe calls for melted butter and you want to try coconut oil, just melt the coconut oil and make sure your other ingredients are at room temperature.

Here is the family recipe I referenced – my kids love it! I love using dark chocolate morsels, but semi-sweet and milk chocolate morsels work great too.

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil

Ingredients needed for 40 cookies:

  • 2 cups white whole-wheat or all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3/4 cup virgin coconut oil, at room temperature
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 2/3 cups (10-oz. pkg.) NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Dark Chocolate Morsels

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 350° F.

COMBINE flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl.

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil Recipe

BEAT coconut oil in large mixer bowl until smooth. Add brown sugar, granulated sugar and vanilla extract; beat until creamy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in morsels.

 Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil Recipe

DROP by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets. I like to use a small ice cream scoop so that all cookies are the same size.

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil Recipe

BAKE for 9 to 12 minutes or until golden brown and edges have begun to set but centers are still soft. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Or, enjoy warm while the chocolate is still molten.

Have you been experimenting with coconut oil too? Please share your recipes and suggestions!

Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil recipe

Links:

Related recipes:

Original NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
Original NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE®
Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookie Bites Recipe
Chocolate Chip
Cookie Bites

 

48 Comments

  1. sweet & tarte
    Posted April 19, 2012 at 5:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am really going through a coconut phase! Had to stop my dairy life and have taken up coconut! I am going to try this recipe. it sounds amazing :)

  2. Posted April 21, 2012 at 1:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These look so delicious! I just bought my first jar of Coconut Oil and can’t wait to try this recipe.

  3. Megan
    Posted April 21, 2012 at 6:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love using coconut oil in lieu of butter. I tweaked your recipe a bit and added cocoa powder for a chocolate chocolate chip recipe! Delicious. Thanks for sharing.

    • Malina
      Posted August 18, 2012 at 6:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

      How much cocoa powder did you use? That sounds wonderful!

  4. coconut oil
    Posted May 11, 2012 at 2:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have been searching for hours and I haven’t found such awesome work.

    coconut oil

  5. Amy
    Posted May 13, 2012 at 10:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I just made these and they are fantastic! I recently read about the wonders of coconut oil, so I’ll be trying more recipes with it in the future. Thanks for posting.

  6. Posted May 28, 2012 at 9:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Made these tonight, and the taste was awesome! I recommend refrigerating the dough on the tray before putting it in the oven to help it hold its shape.

    • Posted May 29, 2012 at 6:47 am | Permalink | Reply

      I am so happy you liked the cookies! Chilling cookie dough certainly has benefits (flavor, texture). It’s interesting that you had flat cookies though. I did compare chilled dough vs just prepared with this recipe and noticed slight flavor and texture differences but both were similar as far as thickness (they were not flat). I did get flatter cookies when I melted the coconut oil though (that’s why the recipe calls for room temp coconut oil). Flat cookies can also be a result of the baking sheets (avoid those with edges all the way around).

      I am tempted to add chilling time to all cookie recipes moving forward (to your point, so many benefits!). Thank you for stopping by our blog!

      • Posted May 29, 2012 at 9:13 am | Permalink

        Yeah, I noticed the same thing. Essentially, baking sheets with sides and/or use of silpat mat made them spread out more; flat baking sheets and/or parchment paper seemed to result in a less flat cookie.

        I used room temperature coconut oil, but I noticed when I was measuring it that it was less solid than I had seen it in the past… maybe my kitchen was just warm that day? In any case, chilling definitely helped, and they didn’t get excessively crispy after cooling like I thought they might, given the texture.

        Overall, huge success! This may be my new go-to method for cookies. :)

      • KT Fish
        Posted August 5, 2013 at 1:01 pm | Permalink

        Coconut oil becomes a liquid at around 70 degrees (for chemical pressed) and around 76 degrees for expeller pressed. Room temp is a range from 72 to 76 degrees so readers will have different results as in some homes the oil will be liquid and others a solid depending on the type of pressed method and the specific temp of the home….

  7. Shannon McCarthy
    Posted July 20, 2012 at 11:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    This look to die for! My husband found your dark chocolate chip cookie recipe online and is insisting I make them this weekend =) Thanks for sharing. Once I finish up with my “real job” of baking cakes, I’ll give this a shot. We both enjoy your blog!
    – Shannon, Crumb Cake Creations

    • Posted July 20, 2012 at 1:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks so much; glad you enjoy it!

  8. Posted August 6, 2012 at 2:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Chocolate chips are heavenly! I could die eating those. The picture where the chocolate was oozing out of the cookie is simply sinful. I’d willingly go to hell just to have a taste. I rest my case and plead guilty.

  9. Penny
    Posted August 16, 2012 at 10:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    Has anyone tried your recipe using a gluten free flour mix in place of the wheat flour? My husband is gluten-free, dairy-free and I’m trying to find a good cookie recipe for him.

    • Posted August 16, 2012 at 4:09 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Penny, unfortunately, I haven’t tried it with a gluten free flour mix. If you do try it, I would love to hear your results. I have heard that this is a good gluten free cookie: http://www.bobsredmill.com/recipes_detail.php?rid=121 I am sure you could substitute the butter for coconut oil.
      Chris

      • Posted September 30, 2013 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

        –I realize this comment was quite a while back, but would like to let folks know that Bob’s Red Mill’s basic Gluten-Free flour blend is very heavy in chickpea flour, with a strong flavor that wouldn’t suit cookies. However, they have lots of other GF flours, you could make your own mixture.

  10. melli50
    Posted September 9, 2012 at 3:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I just made this recipe using Chef Brad’s Wonder Flour which is gluten free. And they turned out beautifully! Delicious! Thanks so much for posting!

  11. Tamara
    Posted September 26, 2012 at 12:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Tweaked these to make them egg and soy free. I used a flax egg and a popular allergen free chocolate chip. Can’t wait to let my kiddos have one. Thx

    • Awujo
      Posted June 8, 2013 at 8:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

      How much flax did you use as an egg replacer? How was the flavor & texture of the finished product? I’m excited about trying this recipe now

  12. Posted October 14, 2012 at 11:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    Would I have to reduce the amount of coconut oil if mine is very liquid? It’s still fairly warm where I live so my coconut oil is pure liquid (as it is most of the year!). I can’t wait to make these cookies!

    • Posted October 14, 2012 at 11:34 am | Permalink | Reply

      I made the cookies with solid coconut oil and liquid and the only real difference was in the appearance (one had more of a crackly top). I’d recommend you use the amount that the recipe calls for. Hope you like the cookies as much as we did!

    • Tamara
      Posted October 14, 2012 at 11:52 am | Permalink | Reply

      I live in FL so I understand. After it was all mixed, I put the bowl in the fridge for a few minutes, then made the balls, placed them on the cookie sheet, then fridge again for 5 or so minutes.

  13. Posted October 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the responses! I’m going to refrigerate the cookie dough as suggested & see how they turn out.

    • Posted October 14, 2012 at 8:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Maybe try a few without chilling… I didn’t need to chill even when the coconut oil was fluid. I’m curious… :)

  14. Posted October 15, 2012 at 10:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I will most likely make these tonight & will let you know know how they go (will do a blog post later)!

  15. Posted October 17, 2012 at 1:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am in love! I may never make cookies with butter again. Just now made a 1st test batch (without refrigerating the dough) – cookies are perfectly crisp on the edges, crackly on top and chewy on the inside. The refrigerated dough has a crackly top too. they’re perfect crackly or not! I can taste the coconut but I don’t really mind.

    I must mention I used all whole wheat flour and instead of chocolate chips I just chopped up two bars of dark chocolate (85% cocoa). Delicious!
    Off to take some quick photos for a blog post before the kids devour them all.

    • Posted October 17, 2012 at 7:08 am | Permalink | Reply

      I am so happy they worked out for you! And I love your changes – all whole wheat flour and chopped dark chocolate. Happy Wednesday to you!
      Chris

  16. coopergoblue
    Posted October 19, 2012 at 9:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    thanks for sharing – I am “new” to coconut oil and was so hoping it was interchangeable w/butter. I used solid packed Pumpkin, oatmeal and a bit of coconut to my cookies :) Yummy fall tailgate treat!

  17. Linda
    Posted December 26, 2012 at 9:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I loved the cookies but it was a bit difficult to get the solid coconut oil to cream in the mixer. Any suggestions?

    • Posted December 26, 2012 at 9:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Linda, if it’s cold in your kitchen, the coconut oil will be completely solid. I’d recommend you scoop the coconut oil into a microwave safe dish and warm it for a few seconds – just enough to soften it. You can also scoop the coconut oil in its solid state into the mixer and mix it until it’s softened, then add the sugars. I’m happy you made the cookies!

  18. Denise
    Posted January 17, 2013 at 6:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love this recipe! Coconut oil in place of butter allows me to eat baked cookies and cakes once again!! No gallbladder or tummy aches with coconut oil! No sugar lows either. These cookies are amazing!! Now using coconut oil for everything!!!

  19. Carolyn Mordecai
    Posted February 18, 2013 at 10:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    Just made these cookies after seeing the wonderful benefits of coconut oil which are too numerous to mention. Am giving them away as presents, as well as sneaking some for myself. They are so easy to make!

  20. Posted March 10, 2013 at 7:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Just made these, with a few alterations: substituted about 1/4c of flour for some coconut flour (that’s all I had in the house), subbed the granulated sugar for coconut sugar, and added about 1oz of freshly brewed espresso (I don’t know, was feeling adventurous!). I also didn’t have any of the morsels, so just chopped up some dark bakers chocolate and used some regular semi-sweet chips. Ah-MAZE-ing!

  21. Cindy
    Posted March 19, 2013 at 6:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    I am anxious to try this recipe. One question: Have you tried substituting the sugar with agave nectar or truvia? I am trying to steer clear of refined sugars.

  22. rae
    Posted March 24, 2013 at 4:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Best recipe I’ve ever tried… will never use another!

  23. Sandy
    Posted June 29, 2013 at 3:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Used coconut oil in my regular choc. chip cookie recipe and, even after adding extra flour, the cookies came out flat. I am continuing to experiment though.

  24. Christine
    Posted July 2, 2013 at 2:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Can I replace the brown flour with Brown rice flour only? and get the same results?

  25. grim girl
    Posted July 31, 2013 at 12:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So addictive! I added organic unsweetened coconut and pecans – yum!

  26. Posted October 24, 2013 at 4:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I just made this recipe with coconut oil and made them chocolate chocolate chip, they turned out amazing!!

  27. Posted December 23, 2013 at 2:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the great recipe
    it’s look amazing :)

  28. April
    Posted December 26, 2013 at 7:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think coconut oil may work best with drop cookies. I just tried it with cutout cookie dough, and for some reason the cookies came out too hard.. the consistency was just a little different than when I use butter. I think I will stick to using the coconut oil only in chocolate chips or other drop cookies.

  29. Raynell
    Posted January 1, 2014 at 10:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Aloha, I must admit this is the best chocolate chip cookie that I have ever made! and I’m making a second batch as we speak! My family came over for the New Years Holiday & enjoyed my first batch sooooo much that all 40 cookies went!! But, I must ask you a question: Because I live in Hawaii, my coconut oil is in a liquid state when its on the shelf. I noticed that it gets a little oily/soupy when I start blending the ingredients together until I add the flour. Is it okay for it to be used in a liquid state? My first batch was the BOMB – even I was impressed. Oh before I forget, I did refrigerate my dough overnight.

    • Posted January 2, 2014 at 7:54 am | Permalink | Reply

      I’ve made this recipe with liquid coconut oil as well and it does work, but the cookies are flatter. Chilling the dough as you did is a great idea! I typically chill cookie dough for 24-36 hours regardless. If you want your coconut oil to be a bit more solid, try refrigerating it for a short while before using. Glad you like the recipe! I love it, too!

  30. Kathy
    Posted February 25, 2014 at 8:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Can’t find this answer anywhere – do you measure the coconut oil in its liquid form or in its solid form?

    • Posted February 26, 2014 at 6:57 am | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Kathy, for this particular recipe, I measured in solid form. Our test kitchen also tested in liquid and it worked fine. The texture of the cookie was slightly different but equally good.

  31. Posted March 5, 2014 at 7:03 am | Permalink | Reply

    Excellent web site you have got here.. It’s hard to find good quality writing like yours these days.
    I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  32. Abby
    Posted April 7, 2014 at 3:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Made these tonight!! They are so moist and soft, definitely a keeper recipe :)

  33. Cristina Valle
    Posted April 7, 2014 at 8:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my! I’ve made them 3 times and my oh my…they taste wonderful. I used single recipe the first time and they went so fast…they lasted only for less than an hour. I doubled the recipe the 2nd Nd 3rd time I made them and so far, 4 people have asked for the recipe. Coconut milk made them so moist and gave a very nice flavor! You have to try rhis recipe!

10 Trackbacks

  1. By The Diet Solution Program - My Journey Day 1 on April 20, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    [...] Baking with Coconut Oil: Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies [...]

  2. [...] Baking with Coconut Oil: Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies (nestleusa.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in Healthy eating, Recipes and tagged Chocolate chip, Chocolate chip cookie, Cookie, Oikos, Pinterest, Recipe by Megan. Bookmark the permalink. [...]

  3. [...] measurements may seem oddly precise, but it’s because it’s adapted from this recipe and converted from cups to [...]

  4. […] oil in my kitchen and thought, why not make chocolate chip cookies with coconut oil! I found this recipe and adapted it […]

  5. […] Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies with Coconut Oil Adapted by Nestle Kitchens […]

  6. […] Baking with Coconut Oil: Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies « Nestlé … […]

  7. […] Baking with Coconut Oil: Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies « Nestlé … […]

  8. By Makanan Super (3) Minyak Kelapa | patahtumbuh on September 28, 2013 at 7:20 am

    […] Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

  9. […] Recipe: Baking with Coconut Oil – Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies […]

  10. […] Chocolate Chip cookies made with coconut oil (to die for!).  I served these at a toddler play date a few months back.  Even the toddlers went nuts over them! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,688 other followers

