Sharing the Love: Spicy Sweet Raisinets Popcorn

 

Written by Chris-

Spicy Sweet Raisinets Popcorn

Every now and again I get really excited about a recipe project that comes my way. This is one of those projects. Problem is, this came through right smack in the middle of my busiest time. So I enlisted the help from fellow recipe bloggers DoughMessTic, Two Peas and Their Pod, BranAppetit! and My Man’s Belly. I joked and said I am sharing the love… recipe love, that is!

Each blogger created two brand new recipes using Nestlé Raisinets. I can’t wait to share their creations with you…in future posts. For now, I’m sharing this popcorn recipe since January 19 is National Popcorn Day!

Adding a little spice and a few extra nuggets really elevates the flavor of everyday popcorn. I never realized how much I loved popcorn until I sank my hand into this little concoction. Our Nestlé Kitchens assistant, Kathy (wickedly talented!) developed this recipe. I modified the spices just slightly to my liking, and threw in a cinnamon-sugar combo for all the kids out there. You can vary the “nuggets” – we used mango, pistachios and Nestlé Raisinets.

Spicy Sweet Raisinets Popcorn

Ingredients for 25 servings at 1/2 cup each:

  • 10 cups popped popcorn (air popped or light butter microwave)
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala or curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin (use less if you aren’t a cumin fan)
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 package (11 ounces) NESTLÉ RAISINETS Milk or Dark Chocolate-Covered Raisins
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped dried mango
  • 1/2 cup shelled pistachios

Directions:

PLACE popcorn in a large bowl.

PLACE garam masala, chili powder, cumin and salt in small saucepan; cook, stirring frequently, over medium heat for 1 minute. Add butter, as shown above; cook, stirring frequently, until melted.

POUR butter-spice mixture over popcorn at the same time as mixture is gently lifted and tossed with tongs or both hands. Continue lifting and tossing until popcorn is evenly coated.

ADD Raisinets, mango and pistachios (shown above); lift and toss popcorn to distribute evenly. Makes 12 1/2 cups total (25 servings at 1/2 cup each).

Cook’s Tip: For Cinnamon-Sugar Popcorn, combine 1 tablespoon granulated sugar, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon and ¼ teaspoon fine sea salt in small bowl. Melt butter; drizzle over popcorn and toss to coat. Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar mixture; toss again to coat.

If you make this recipe (any of the variations), let me know what you think…I can’t decide if I like the curry, garam masala or cinnamon-sugar the best. All I know is that I need to make it again in the very near future!

If you have a favorite popcorn recipe, please share a link in our comment section!

Blogs to bookmark:

Raisinets Trail Mix
Raisinets Trail Mix with Marshmallows
Chocolate Popcorn & Pretzel Raisinets Treats
Chocolate Popcorn & Pretzel Raisinets Treats

 

3 Comments

  1. Posted January 19, 2012 at 5:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    this sounds fantastic! what a great mix of flavors!

  2. AJ
    Posted January 26, 2012 at 6:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Tried this recipe today- great idea. I found the cumin to be overpowering (because garam masala already has cumin). Adding the dried mangos was a delicous combo. Great job!

    • Posted January 26, 2012 at 8:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Oh yes, you’ve got to like cumin! I add it to so many recipes, so it’s not overpowering to me…but definitely reduce if you are not a fan.

3 Trackbacks

  1. By National Chocolate Covered Raisins Day « on March 24, 2012 at 11:54 am

    [...] Raisnets Popcorn Rasinets Brittle Rasinets Oatmeal Cookies Rasinets French [...]

  2. [...] like the opening sequence of The Brady Bunch. And its latest ad features the greatest pairing since popcorn and Raisinettes: the Muppets and Queen (more evidence of my questionable [...]

  3. [...] Spicy Sweet Raisinets Popcorn [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,688 other followers

