What’s Your Holiday Recipe Story? Libby’s Famous Pumpkin Pie Recipe

 

LIBBY'S® Famous Pumpkin Pie recipe

Recipe stories – from family, friends and our bakers – are something I never tire of! Whether prepared during the holidays and other celebration times, I love to hear about all the folks in the story, those cooking and preparing as well as eating and enjoying.

These recipes all have a story:

  • a traditional recipe handed down through the years – prepared by so-and-so, must be made with this (no exceptions) and stirred this way (counterclockwise)
  • a dish made in honor or memory of someone – these bring me smiles, laughter and sometimes tears
  • a heritage dish of a country which educates and allows me to taste something I may not have tasted before
  • a recipe disaster – to quote my nephew, who was 5 at the time, “What are you trying to do Aunt Jenny? Kill my taste buds?!”

Here is my story. For as long as I can remember, my family had pumpkin pie for dessert on this day. Mom traditionally made the pies and always used the Libby’s Famous Pumpkin Pie recipe. Ironically, December 25th is National Pumpkin Pie Day. This comes as no surprise to me.

One year when my family was hosting, I began to make the pies and Mom offered assistance to make the pumpkin filling and mentioned that I could do the crust. No problem! I proceeded to get all out that was needed.

“Where’s the mixer?” she asked. “No mixer is needed, I said, ” just use a whisk, one less piece of equipment to clean. This is what we do in the test kitchen.”

“Really? I have not tried that.” She proceeded to get things measured out but was obviously growing more flustered.

“Are you okay, Mom?” I asked, “need anything?”

She replied, “Yes, the mixer! How can you make pumpkin pie without a mixer? Don’t you have one? Isn’t it more work to use the whisk?”

By now, those close to the discussion stopped what they doing and had their eyes open wide. Don’t mess with Mom on the pies – I knew better! Calm needed to be restored to the kitchen. “Yes, I do, let me get it for you!”

“Much better,” she said. “See you mix each ingredient in one a time – in the order on the can. Works every time. I have never had one complaint.”

I went back to the crust making and kept quiet. We laughed about this later and I know I will be smiling when I make the pie this day thinking of her. As a friend states, “We fight and then we eat dessert!” How true.

May you laugh and smile in the kitchen and around the table remembering your stories.

Libby’s Famous Pumpkin Pie recipe

Ingredients needed for 8 servings:

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 can (15 oz.) LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 1 can (12 fl. oz.) NESTLÉ® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk
  • 1 unbaked 9-inch (4-cup volume) deep-dish pie shell
  • Whipped cream (optional)

Directions:

MIX sugar, cinnamon, salt, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk.

POUR into pie shell.

BAKE in preheated 425° F oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350° F; bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate. Top with whipped cream before serving.

Links:

More Pumpkin Recipes:

Pumpkin Pecan Pie recipe
Pumpkin Pecan Pie
Gingersnap Pumpkin Chiffon Pie recipe
Gingersnap Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

 

One Trackback

  1. [...] It goes without saying that Libby’s Famous Pumpkin Pie will be gracing most tables Thanksgiving Thursday. I know it will be at mine. There was never a time in my life where pumpkin pie did not make an appearance as the Thanksgiving and Christmas dessert! Pumpkin pie even accompanied us on the road to visit my family for the holiday last year. Even making pumpkin pies holds a special place in my heart. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,688 other followers

