Secret Recipe Club: Baking Healthy Oats into Desserts

Written by Liz -

Pumpkin Oat Streusel Muffins recipe

This month, I had a fun new assignment called the Secret Recipe Club. Food bloggers sign up, then we are each given a secret assignment to make one recipe from another member’s blog. And today is the reveal!

Don’t these Pumpkin Oat Streusel Muffins above look good? I’m glad I got Delicious Existence so I could choose another baked-oat-dessert: Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Pie with Dark Chocolate Drizzle. Danielle is a passionate holistic health counselor and dedicated vegan and gluten-free cook…something I’ve never tried. I thought this would be an interesting test:  can I successfully make this recipe, only shopping at my local grocery store?

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Pie w/ Dark Chocolate Drizzle recipe

Some of the ingredients were hard to find, so I substituted agave nectar + organic sugar for sucanat, dried cranberries for raisins (just for fun) and I couldn’t find oat flour that was gluten-free. I also added a quarter cup of organic sugar and a teaspoon of sea salt before pouring it into the baking dish, above.

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Pie w/ Dark Chocolate Drizzle recipe

After baking, the consistency more resembled scones, which Danielle does mention in her recipe. These would be great with no topping, just served warm topped with a little butter.

I did have some trouble with her recipe for the glaze, so I ended up using our technique for Toll House morsels, melted in a baggie and squeezed out in a drizzle, as shown in the video above. Watch here to see how it’s done.

Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal Pie w/ Dark Chocolate Drizzle recipe

It was still a very healthy recipe that I can feel good about for a treat or for breakfast, above. And it’s pretty!

This got me thinking about our own recipes, so i found some healthier dessert options with oats. One is Pumpkin Oat Streusel Muffins, shown at top.

Good-For-You Choc-Oat-Chip Cookies recipe

Another is this recipe for Good-For-You Choc-Oat-Chip Cookies, above.

Links:

Related Oatmeal Dessert Recipes:

Pumpkin Oat Streusel Muffins recipePumpkin Oat Streusel Muffins Good-For-You Choc-Oat-Chip Cookies recipeGood-For-You Choc-Oat-Chip Cookies



4 Comments

  1. Posted November 14, 2011 at 6:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks dreamy.

  2. Posted November 15, 2011 at 6:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks great — so fun to be in SRC with you!

  3. Posted November 15, 2011 at 7:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So would this be considered breakfast or dessert? The only time I do chocolate for breakfast is if I use a chocolate protein powder for a smoothie.. so I guess this could be breakfast? It honestly looks really delicious and a fun twist for breakfast or dessert!

  4. Posted November 16, 2011 at 7:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    OMG – I am loving your post and I am glad you enjoyed the recipe!!

    You are so right in terms of some ingredients being difficult to find in your standard supermarket. I tend to order alot of stuff online (at vitacost – they have the best prices) as well as shopping at Trader Joes and when I must Wild by Nature (the prices arent that great but they have a bulk bin section so I can just buy what I need instead of purchasing a whole bag. It helps keep costs down as done making my own flours when I can. I do this with oat flour via grinding my oats in a nut/seed/spice grinder).

    Live Delicious
    xo

One Trackback

  1. [...] Pumpkin Oat Streusel Muffins Rate this:Share this:EmailPrintPinterestFacebookTwitterStumbleUponTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was written by Liz, posted on September 17, 2012 at 1:42 pm, filed under Breakfast, Desserts & Sweets and tagged breakfast, buttermilk, chocolate, Muffin, snacks. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « Simple is Best: After School Snack Ideas [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,678 other followers

