Transitions, Vacation, New Additions & Grandparents Day Treats with Ovaltine

Written by Chris -

Chris, Ani & Amy of the Nestle Kitchens

Wow, it has been a busy several weeks for me!  Let me catch you up…Our Nestlé Kitchens bid a tearful farewell to contributor Ani Simon. Ani created Nestlé’s Hispanic recipes, among many other things. I just love her – we have worked together for over 10 years! She is a registered dietitian, so when a full-time offer came through to do what she truly loves, she needed to jump. So I have some big shoes to fill, and I’m now actively looking for a replacement. This is my final day with Ani above, laughing as always. And let me introduce you to Amy, our recipe editor, on the right. She has been working with Nestlé for 20 years!

Hawaii - the big island

Ahhh, vacation.  Let me tell you, I needed one! We have a week where my kids are still out of school and summer camps are over, so we decided that would be the perfect time to take a little Hawaiian vacation. It was delightful – well, everything but my lava rock injury!  I didn’t let that get in the way from watching the sun rise and set every day. The Big Island above, is the one place I can completely relax and take it all in. And I needed that because busy days were just around the corner.

Sunny & Kea

Meet Sunny and Kea, our two eight-week-old yellow English Labrador puppies (sister and brother) we just brought home. I have been promising my kids they could have a dog “someday” and September 5th was that day. Recent events have made me realize that I can’t keep putting things off: live and love today, for it could all be gone tomorrow. I keep reminding myself of this as I am up a few times a night with these new additions, trying to establish a routine, working on potty training…you get the sleepless picture. And the teething, oh my! A little ironic that we would pick the pups that like to chew on kitchen appliances. But it’s all worth it!

Ovaltine Banana "Ice Cream" recipe

I could not work, have triplets and puppies if I did not have a willing and able mother. She is actually the one who convinced me to get two puppies…you know, because while I am at work, a puppy needs a companion. Since my mom watches my kids a couple times a week, she likes quick, nutritious snacks that the kids can help with. And Ovaltine prepared with milk – hot or cold, is good enough for my kids. They just love it!  These recipes always come in handy. Cream cheese and Ovaltine are a surprisingly good combination. It makes an excellent bagel topper and it’s great for dipping (think apples and graham crackers). The photo above, however, is their favorite way to consume Ovaltine…all blended up with frozen bananas and milk.
 
Ovaltine Banana “Ice Cream”

Ingredients for 4 servings (enough for the triplets & Grandma):

  • 2 large bananas, cut into pieces, frozen solid
  • 1/2 cup OVALTINE Chocolate Malt Mix
  • 1/2 cup fat free milk
  • Waffle cone cups (optional)

Directions:

PLACE bananas, Ovaltine and milk in food processor or blender; cover. Pulse until smooth. Spoon into waffle cone cups. Serve immediately.

Links:

More Ovaltine recipes:

Ovaltine Dip-alicious recipe
Ovaltine Dip-alicious
Ovaltine Better Bagel Topper recipe
Ovaltine Better Bagel Topper

3 Comments

  1. Posted September 10, 2011 at 2:11 pm | Permalink | Reply

    All I can say is AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

  2. Posted September 10, 2011 at 2:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Pamela! Thank you :) I can barely keep my eyes open, I am sooo tired. These pups are just like infants – but twins this time.

  3. Posted September 21, 2011 at 1:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Chris! Sorry it’s been so long since we’ve been in touch. The puppy’s are so adorable! What a great mom you are! I’m hoping things are starting to get a little easier in your house with the new additions. Looking forward to seeing photo updates of the new twins as they grow up. :)
    Hope all is well with you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,680 other followers

