Soft-Serve Ice Cream as Easy as 1-2-3! Banana Cream Freeze Recipe

Written by Chris

Banana Cream Freeze recipe

If you freeze bananas until solid, then blend ‘em up in a food processor or blender, they get creamy and a bit gooey, just like softened ice cream. Add a little milk and Carnation Breakfast Essentials and it’s transformed into a soft-serve-like better-for-you dessert! Why add CBE? It adds an extra dose of protein, calcium, antioxidants and vitamins! I also like to add seasonal fruit to the mix such as strawberries, blackberries and peaches, as shown in the image above.

I’m calling this a dessert, but you will likely catch me eating it for breakfast too. It’s also a great mid-day snack. My kids absolutely love it!

Our Carnation team asked Liz and I to put together the quick recipe video above to illustrate to their consumers just how easy it is. See for yourself!

Banana Cream Freeze, shown at top

Ingredients for 2 to 3 servings:

  • 2 large, ripe bananas, cut into pieces and frozen solid (I use a zip-top bag – be sure to press out all the air)
  • 2 packets No Sugar Added Classic French Vanilla or Classic French Vanilla Flavor CARNATION BREAKFAST ESSENTIALS Complete Nutritional Drink
  • 1/2 cup fat free milk

Directions:

Banana Cream Freeze recipe

Step 1: Make sure your bananas are good and frozen! Place bananas, Carnation Breakfast Essentials and milk in food processor or blender as shown above; cover.

Banana Cream Freeze recipe

Step 2: Pulse until smooth. At this point, an option is to add a handful (about ½ cup) of fresh berries or cut up fruit. See how creamy it is above? Just like soft-serve ice cream!

Banana Cream Freeze recipe

Step 3: Spoon into cups. Top with berries if desired. Serve immediately.

I hope you are having a delicious summer! Check back soon…

Links:

Related ice cream & smoothie recipes:

Peach Ice Milk recipe
Peach Ice Milk
Peach of Mind smoothie recipe
Peach of Mind smoothie

8 Comments

  1. Posted August 6, 2011 at 5:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Chris you’re such a doll and I love the shot of you in the apron :)

    Banana softserve is a staple in our house!

    I tweak it with everything from adding peanut butter to adding cocoa powder to adding rum :)

  2. Posted August 14, 2011 at 5:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We make banana soft serve ice cream in our home too. I’ll have to try your version with teh carnation instant breakfast packets, sounds like it’s a winner.

    My kids love to create their own concoctions, I did a post back in early July on the different flavors they came up with. Great idea!

  3. Posted August 15, 2011 at 1:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I feel like I must try this. I’ve seen it on a lot of healthy living blogs lately and it’s calling out to me!

    • Posted August 15, 2011 at 1:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

      RealFunFood – It’s a wonderful recipe – also great with Ovaltine! I made it for my kids this way over the weekend. Loved it!!

  4. Posted August 16, 2011 at 4:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love this… looks delicious!!! Will have to try this with mangoes :)

    • Posted August 18, 2011 at 6:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

      This would be so good with mangoes! I used peaches the other day – yum!

  5. Posted August 22, 2011 at 3:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love the easy way you make icecream thank you!

  6. zebulon
    Posted September 18, 2011 at 10:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i’m selling ice cream so iwonder if you sell the 5 or 10 litres of soft serves?

2 Trackbacks

  1. By s’mores ice cream « bitemythumb on August 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    [...] of the banana soft serve trend, my recipe queue has had a bit of a trend recently as well. S’mores. I bookmarked some [...]

  2. [...] Banana Cream Freeze “Soft Serve” [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,737 other followers

