Never Say Never‘s Justin Bieber Loves WONKA SweeTARTS: a Purple Smoothie Recipe

Written by Chris

  Wonka SweeTarts Purple Smoothie recipe

Imagine being asked to develop a recipe to help support the launch of Justin Bieber’s Never Say Never DVD (launched May 13th). Exciting, right? I thought so! The request seemed simple enough. I had to find a way to creatively incorporate a hard-yet-chewy candy (that is meant to be eaten out-of-hand) into a recipe, since Justin is a huge fan of SweeTARTS candy. The recipe also needed to be appropriate for a pre-tween sleepover movie-viewing party.

I have tried to bake with SweeTARTS previously. Not the best way to go. Of course they are great for decorating cupcakes, etc. But that’s too easy. Think, think, think! I thought it would be wise to do a little research…

Wonka SweeTart Lollipops recipe

I held a brainstorming session with our team and our kitchen assistant offered up cute idea for SweeTART Lollipops, shown above. I loved this idea; they could be made in advance and served as party favors. But I wanted something that could be put together quickly for the kids to enjoy during the movie or shortly after.

There are a lot of Bieber fans in my daughter’s dance/singing class, so I asked for their input. Sounds like a great idea, right? Once I uttered the word “Justin” the girls screamed and lost all focus. I suppose I can relate – I had a little thing for Duran Duran back in the day. I did retrieve a small piece of valuable information though: Justin’s favorite color is purple…so whatever I came up with needed to incorporate purple. Noted!

On our way home, we stopped at our local yogurt shop. A light bulb went off! Frozen yogurt with mix-ins is all the rage, in SoCal at least. My kids always come up with the most off-the-wall flavor combinations like red velvet cake batter yogurt with gummy worms; tart vanilla yogurt with Fruity Pebbles; and chocolate yogurt with mini marshmallows and gummy bugs. The common thread is a sweet & tart combo with something chewy and/or crunchy.

What did I do with all this info? I developed a purple SweeTART smoothie with a soft-serve consistency. When the SweeTARTS get blended, they taste a little like Fruity Pebbles. This smoothie was an instant hit with my kids! Take a look…

Wonka SweeTarts Purple Smoothie recipe

SweeTarts Smoothie

Ingredients for 3 servings (1 cup each):

Directions:

PLACE SweeTarts, blueberries, milk and ice cream in blender; cover. Blend until smooth. Feel free to blend in even more blueberries or sprinkle some on top. After all, purple is Justin’s favorite color!

Wonka SweeTarts Purple Smoothie recipe

The only question remaining: serve with spoon or straw? My daughter chose a spoon, shown above.

Wonka Dipped Pretzels recipe

Since this promotion was geared toward a kids sleepover I also included a recipe for WONKA Dipped Pretzels which can serve as a fun activity. Pretzel rods are dipped in melted white morsels, then coated with SweeTARTS (I used the hard SweeTARTS in this recipe) and Wonka Nerds.

What kind of a recipe would you have come up with? I would love to hear your ideas!

Links:

Related treat recipes:

Marshmallow Pops recipe
Marshmallow Pops
Blue Monkey Smoothie recipe
Blue Monkey Smoothie

One Comment

  1. Posted October 21, 2011 at 7:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Amazing! it’s exactly what i was looking for.
    can’t wait to try it and either to taste it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,750 other followers

