Hot Breakfast Day: Spicy Baby Potatoes Side Dish

Maggi Baby Potatoes recipe

Two of my favorite ingredients are caramelized onions and red potatoes with the skin on, so why not combine the two to create a delicious side or breakfast dish? And since it’s National Hot Breakfast Day, I thought I’d share my Maggi Baby Potatoes recipe with you today.

Now, I definitely don’t need a food holiday to encourage me to eat hot breakfast (I also love breakfast for dinner!) and I could eat this dish at any meal of the day. It works well as breakfast potatoes, a dinner side dish, even a warm, lighter version of potato salad with a Latin twist (regular potato salad can be heavy when it’s made with mayonnaise).

To spice it up, I added fresh chopped jalapeños to the recipe giving it a kick and I seasoned it with the popular seasoning sauce called Maggi “jugo sazonador” which translates to seasoning juice or sauce. In many Latin American countries, people use this sauce – which resembles a dark soy sauce – as an ingredient in of their recipes, but most of the time they keep it on the table and use it in place of salt to season their dishes. They also sprinkle it on potato chips along with lime juice just as fish and chips will be seasoned with salt and vinegar. In Mexico “jugo sazonador” is often sprinkled over pizza! Seasoning sauce is also used as an ingredient in salad dressings such as Caesar dressing and in some restaurants in Mexico you’ll find salad dressing made at your table using this sauce.

This Maggi Baby Potatoes recipe uses potatoes with the skin. When I cook potatoes, I keep the skin on since it is where all the fiber and vitamins of the potato are hidden! You can also boil the potatoes a day ahead and use them right before you make the dish.

In summer, I make a different version of the same recipe but instead of cooking the onions and jalapeños I add them raw to the potatoes and make a dressing with the seasoning sauce, extra virgin olive oil and lime juice. It’s so yummy for any BBQ or picnic.

I hope you enjoy this quick and versatile dish that can be served at any occasion!

Links:

Related breakfast recipes:

CARNATION® Scrambled Eggs recipe
CARNATION® Creamy Scrambled Eggs
Whole-Wheat Spinach Ricotta Quiche Cups recipe
Whole-Wheat Spinach Ricotta Quiche Cups

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 21, 2011 at 9:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    baby potatoes are really delicious !!

  2. Posted October 2, 2014 at 6:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Attractive element of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    in accession capital to claim that I acquire actually loved
    account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your feeds or even I fulfillment you access constantly fast.

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nestle USA and bruno, Lilly Audrey. Lilly Audrey said: Hot Breakfast Day: Spicy Baby Potatoes Side Dish: http://t.co/EXHmnJB This fits perfectly with our love for potatoes! […]

  2. […] before the chicken was done, I added zucchini, asparagus and broccolini to the grill. I also made a warm spicy-vinegar potato salad and mini lemon tartlets to fill every last bit of space in my guests’ […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,752 other followers

