Hot Chocolate, Cinnamon & Pumpkin: Easy Holiday Atole

Pumpkin and Abuelita Atole Drink Recipe

During the cold winters in Spain, I remember my mom taking me to her favorite coffee house where she would order an espresso for herself and “chocolate caliente con churros” (hot chocolate with churros) for me. Hot chocolate in Spain is not at all like what we drink here. It is a very thick and rich, dark chocolate concoction. I would dip my churros in the hot chocolate and enjoy every bite with an additional sip of the drink.

When I started learning about other Latin cuisines, I was introduced to Atole (pronounced ah-toll-eh). Atole is a traditional masa, or cornmeal, based Mexican and Central American hot drink which reminds me of the thick “chocolate caliente” I used to drink when I was a kid. Atole is very popular during Mexico’s Day of the Dead as well as Hispanic Christmas holidays, and is usually served with tamales. Atole is also commonly sold as street food, and sometimes prepared with the addition of chocolate or fruit.

Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin is one of my favorite products and I’ve learned from Chris that is can be used as an ingredient practically in anything from savory to sweet dishes and drinks. I suddenly came up with the idea to thicken my Atole with pumpkin instead of masa. I also thought the flavor combination of pumpkin and Abuelita chocolate (a cinnamon-flavored Mexican chocolate) would work beautifully! This Atole recipe is quick and easy; you can put it together in 5 minutes. Our granulated version of Abuelita chocolate dissolves quickly and adds a wonderful cinnamon aroma and flavor to this soothing winter beverage.

If you’ve never had Atole, the coming holiday season is the perfect time to try it with your family and friends!

Links:

Related pumpkin holiday recipes:

Pick-Me-Up Pumpkin Latte Recipe
Pick-Me-Up Pumpkin Latte
La Lechera Pumpkin Flan Recipe
La Lechera Pumpkin Flan

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 8, 2010 at 10:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh wow – this looks so incredible and comforting! I would love a giant mug of it!

    • Posted November 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Jessica! I would love a giant mug of it too! Thanks for stopping by our blog! Chris

One Trackback

  1. [...] This is a sweet tamale recipe and Abuelita Chocolate Tamales are a breeze to make since there is no stuffing involved. Simply prepare it like a cake batter and spread on a corn husk, wrap and then steam! And the cinnamon cream sauce on top is the perfect finishing touch! Double your chocolate enjoyment and pair these tamales with a hot Atole. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,713 other followers

