Make your own BBQ Sauce & Spice up Chicken Drummettes

Written by Ani

Barbeque Chicken Drummettes

I love barbecue, especially in the summer. There’s nothing like the taste of homemade barbecue sauce and the smell of it grilling outside! But even if I don’t feel like going outside to grill, I make BBQ chicken in the oven using a very easy BBQ sauce recipe.

It’s extremely easy to make with very few ingredients and steps and it’s the perfect BBQ sauce for any meats such as chicken, fish or steak. You can also make it your own unique sauce by adding a few extra spices, or a little more or less of some of the ingredients. This sauce has a Latin twist, adding chili powder and hot sauce. My favorite ingredient to use is Chipotle-flavored hot sauce. It gives a smoky, sweet and hot flavor to the meat, and it is to die for!

BBQ Sauce Ingredients

For this recipe I use a product called Sofrito (found in your grocer’s international section), which is a natural cooking base or paste made from tomato, onion and garlic. Using this base saves me time in the kitchen; I don’t have to chop onions or garlic, wash extra dishes or get my fingers smelly. Just add it in the blender with the rest of the ingredients, and the sauce is done. Watch how how easy it is to make BBQ sauce in the video below.

Then, I marinate the chicken in a tight zip lock bag for 24 hours before baking it at 375° F for about 25-35 minutes.

BBQ Chicken Marinating

I turn the chicken halfway through the baking time, and also baste the chicken with the sauce several times on each side. This way, you get a yummy glaze on top.

Basting BBQ Chicken

I love to serve these with healthier oven-baked fries and a green salad. I also made my own simple, light salad dressing by whisking fresh lemon juice (a lot of it) with extra virgin olive oil and a teaspoon of dijon mustard in a large bowl. Then I tossed my favorite salad greens in the same bowl.

BBQ Chicken with Oven-Baked Fries & Salad

Even my little girls at home love the spicy and lemony flavors, colors and textures of this whole meal – they were my very first testers and gave me double thumbs up!

Links:

2 Comments

  1. Posted August 2, 2011 at 2:02 am | Permalink | Reply

    this looks lovely! YUM

  2. Posted August 11, 2014 at 8:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too. This kind of
    clever work and reporting! Keep up the fantastic works
    guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

One Trackback

  1. [...] Barbeque Chicken Drummettes Rate this:Share this:EmailPrintPinterestFacebookTwitterStumbleUponTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was written by nkguestpost, posted on August 17, 2012 at 7:00 am, filed under Entertaining, Main Dishes and tagged Adobo, barbecue, beverage, chicken, grilling, Hispanic, international, spice. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « Homage to Julia Child: Lemon Loaf Cake with Grilled Peaches [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,713 other followers

