Lemon-Basil Sorbet Recipe

Lemon-Basil Sorbet

My birthday is in the spring, and this year I wanted to give my friends an outdoor garden party, complete with a light springtime dessert. It should be fresh and impressive. I found this super easy recipe from Chris, and it sounded perfect. It only had two ingredients and no cooking time! I loved that an herb – basil – was the starring ingredient in a sweet dish. Using herbs in desserts is one of my favorite food trends.

Mint has long been a favorite dessert herb, but now I was seeing basil, sage and rosemary mixed in with cakes, fruit desserts, pies and ice cream. For this recipe, I simply chopped the basil – I chopped it coarsely so it would show up more – and mixed it with zesty lemon sorbet and the crowd-favorite, orchard peach sorbet. I added a few organic ginger snaps, and even made a tiny ginger snap sorbet sandwich (ginger is another ingredient that’s great in desserts).

Lemon-Basil Sorbet

With this recipe, it was easy to please and impress my friends in the garden that day. And I’m keeping this simple dessert idea in my repertoire all summer. Thanks Chris!

Related sorbet recipes:

Ginger Bites with Zesty Lemon Sorbet recipe
Ginger Bites with Zesty Lemon Sorbet
Oh-So-Refreshing Pumpkin-Orange Granita recipe
Pumpkin-Orange Granita

2 Comments

  1. Posted May 6, 2010 at 5:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I would drop this sorbet into a glass of champagne. Sounds yummy!

  2. Posted May 4, 2011 at 9:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have so many herbs in the garden right now and a sorbet would be an awesome and fresh way to use them!

2 Trackbacks

  1. [...] Lemon-Basil Sorbet Rate this: Share this:EmailPrintFacebookTwitterStumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was written by Chris, posted on August 19, 2011 at 5:30 pm, filed under Sweets and tagged cake, easy, fruit, light. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « Happy Apple Week: Cinnamon Apple Rolls [...]

  2. [...] may remember from previous posts that I love a little herb in my desserts – well, I also love a little herb in my drinks. Especially basil. And cilantro. And [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,711 other followers

