First-time Chocolate Soufflé for a First-time Valentine

Written by Liz -

Make-Ahead Chocolate Soufflé Recipe

Helping in the Nestlé Kitchens gets me big benefits: lots of recipes that need tasting plus I get to watch Chris cook (her tips are even better live!) and what better month than February, a chocoholic’s dream.

After tasting Chris’ Make-Ahead Chocolate Soufflés and hearing how easy it was, I decided to attempt my very first soufflé. And, I had just the Valentine to impress; this would be our first Feb 14 together.

I used a recipe for two servings (omitting the Treasure). The ingredient list was short, the instructions looked easy and watching Chris’ video below made me feel really confident.

I love to cook – but I don’t bake a lot – so halfway through I realized I didn’t have a mixer! I had to beat the egg whites by hand; they didn’t form stiff peaks so I was afraid the soufflés wouldn’t rise. With only a few minutes to spare, I pulled them from the oven and ran to meet my date.

Chocolate Soufflé Recipe

They were delicious. Perfectly baked on top, so rich and just a tiny bit gooey in the middle. They didn’t rise as much as the photo, but they peeked over the top which was pretty darn good for a first try. My date was sufficiently impressed. It helps to walk in smelling like warm chocolate soufflé. :)

The next day, I made it for my girlfriends and doubled the recipe. It was so easy I did it from memory!

Links:

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 11, 2010 at 10:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hooray, I have those souffle cups. Now I have your great recipe to use them. Thanks for this.

  2. raja ali
    Posted March 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    greetings, do yu think a 10 oz pyrex would work? i think it’s a souffle cup but im not sure

    • Posted March 19, 2011 at 10:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Raja, 10 ounce souffle cups should work, but you will likely need only 4 of these. Just watch carefully as they bake. They will likely bake longer than the recipe indicates.

      If you are referring to a 10 inch (not ounce) Pyrex, I still think it will work, but I have not tested it in this dish.

      I hope you make it – it’s a wonderful recipe!
      Chris

2 Trackbacks

  1. [...] Peanut Butter Brownie Pudding Pie reminded me so much of my favorite chocolate soufflé recipe. It has somewhat of a molten center and the top is slightly crisp (ok, let’s get real, the top is [...]

  2. [...] Day is coming, and I love Valentine’s Day — even when I have no Valentine. This year, I have a houseful of friends who deserve some [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,665 other followers

