Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs Recipe

Red Wine-Braised Short Ribs

Julie & Julia: another great foodie movie. I can still remember waiting in line (for what seemed like hours!) just to have Julia Child autograph my personal copies of Baking with Julia and Julia & Jacques Cooking at Home.

I was certainly inspired by this movie to create these red wine-braised short ribs, as I always am by the formidable Julia Child and other amazing chefs out there. Chef Suzanne Goin at Lucques in Los Angeles, shared a similar recipe at the end of the movie (on pay-per-view), but she used port and balsamic vinegar in addition to the wine. I had to try this, and I loved the results. It was so rich and flavorful, Julie and Julia both would have approved – bien sur! I still love the original recipe however, which is so simple, the flavors more rustic; and using just wine makes it a bit less expensive.

Some tips:

  1. Pat the ribs completely dry before seasoning.
  2. Be sure to brown the ribs in batches, as you don’t want to crowd them in the saucepan or steam will collect that will inhibit browning.
  3. If you have time, let the braise cool completely and reheat before serving.  For the best marriage of flavors, cover and refrigerate overnight. Scrape off the hardened fat with a spoon.  Reheat gently on top of the stove.
  4. Don’t cook with a wine you wouldn’t drink.  It’s simple, but I see people making these mistakes all the time.  If you use a cheap bottle of merlot, it will end up being too bland. This recipe needs a bold, nice quality red.
  5. Get more braising tips.
  6. Read about cooking with wine.

Bon appétit! Get the full recipe here.

2 Trackbacks

  1. [...] with? Or maybe a side dish or something for the holidays, which are looming? I decided to click the random post button and see what the blog decided. And I was lucky! This is a dish I have been wanting to try, ever [...]

  2. [...] with? Or maybe a side dish or something for the holidays, which are looming? I decided to click the random post button and see what the blog decided. And I was lucky! This is a dish I have been wanting to try, ever [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,735 other followers

